Saturn Spot
 

 


Go Back   Saturn Spot > Saturn Model & Technical Discussion > How Do You Fix This? > Technical Issues


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2004, 07:38 PM   #1
scsadjw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: new york
Posts: 238
Default help on wiring my fogs


Can anyone help me with maybe a schematic on how to wire up fogs that i have. ive had them for about a year and have gone through like 4 switches...they seem to melt, so i know something isnt right. ive never used a relay, but the box says to use one. but any suggestions please let me know. thank you

__________________
1993 Saturn SL2; reverse silver gauges, window tint w/ emblem, 2 1/4" cat back with 4" custom muffler, rally driving lights, aem intake w/ k and n cone filter, 17" tz-7 wheels, custom tails, blue underglow and interior neons
scsadjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2004, 08:33 PM   #2
afsaturn1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: KCMO
Posts: 758
Default

A bigger amp rated switch
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
afsaturn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 01:46 AM   #3
Ssicarman
Senior Member
 
Ssicarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,706
Default Re: help on wiring my fogs

Quote:
Originally Posted by scsadjw
ive never used a relay, but the box says to use one.
There is your solution. Use a relay. If you are running the power for the lights through the switch you are asking for the trouble that you are getting. Install a relay for the fog lights and you will be fine.
__________________
A lousy day in Paradise is still a day in Paradise.
Ssicarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 04:43 AM   #4
scsadjw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: new york
Posts: 238
Default

will the relay be self explanitory? thanks for your help.
__________________
1993 Saturn SL2; reverse silver gauges, window tint w/ emblem, 2 1/4" cat back with 4" custom muffler, rally driving lights, aem intake w/ k and n cone filter, 17" tz-7 wheels, custom tails, blue underglow and interior neons
scsadjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 07:00 PM   #5
philS
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Franklin, MA
Posts: 13
Default Relays

Relays are self-explanatory, for the most part. You should get one with 4 terminals on it. Hopefully the instructions tell you what rating the relay should be (20A, 30A, etc). Also, you may want to wire a fuse or breaker in the high-current line between the power source and the relay, that way you won't F up anything if there is a short.

Some relays have a schematic on them. If not, let us know the number codes on the relay you choose, and we can tell you how to wire it. On some that I've used, two of the terminals are bigger than the other two, so it's obvious that the large ones handle the power to the lights and the small terminals are for the switch on the dash.

Basically, with a relay you are sending a very small current through the switch, and when the switch is closed (on) a small current is letting the relay know it should close in order to send the real current to the fog lights. This is the same principle as a starter solenoid - if we didn't have one, you'd be replacing ignition switches like it was your job
__________________
Phil
02 SL, Classic Mini, Ranger
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 08:40 PM   #6
U2slow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 234
Default

I'm kind of glad this came up. I just installed some aftermarket fogs in mine. I used the relay seeing as they came with one, but I was a little confused as to the purpose of it. I always thought that relays were simply for things that switch on and off on their own, Ex. turn signals, fuel pump, fans, etc.
__________________
94 SC2

If it doesn't go fast...why make it look like it does?
U2slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 09:01 PM   #7
Dman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 268
Default

LOL I installed my aftermarket fogs. I had a relay box that I attached on my radiator hose since I couldn't get it any further away from the engine. anyway, the piece of **** melted. fuse and all. So I guess make sure your placeing your relay and fuse box in a good place.
__________________
'95 SL2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


-=SPOCWA=-
Dman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:01 PM.

© 2006 - 2016 CrowdGather | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community

 

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.