Saturn Spot
 

 


Go Back   Saturn Spot > Saturn Modifications > Performance Modifications


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2013, 03:20 PM   #51
baschgearhead
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default Head Leaks


It leaks front and back at the gasket/block split line near the "T" in the head. The head was rebuilt and the flatness checked. We are going to pull the second head off and verify the block is flat. I initially wanted to make sure the head was interchangeable thus causing the leak, but now am leaning towards a flatness issue. I will keep you posted.

Thanks,
Bill

baschgearhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 03:46 AM   #52
Ssicarman
Senior Member
 
Ssicarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,706
Default

If it is leaking at the block to head to timing cover joint then you may not be getting enough RTV sealant there.
__________________
A lousy day in Paradise is still a day in Paradise.
Ssicarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 04:24 PM   #53
doober
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Default full swap?

I have a 97 sl2, and have a chance at a nice rebuilt 94 dohc engine complete with tranny and throttle body for dirt cheap. iv read the guide but am still confused. Would i be able to straight swap the engines? Would i need all the 94 satty harnesses for my 97? Computer? Im hoping that because the "new" engine is complete i wont need much???

Thanks
doober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 06:37 PM   #54
Ssicarman
Senior Member
 
Ssicarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,706
Default

You should be able to bolt the 97 components to the 94. You will have an extra hole in the head for the temp gauge sensor but you can just put a sensor in it to plug it. Also you will need to find an EGR adaptor plate to convert the vacuum EGR to the 97 electronic one.
__________________
A lousy day in Paradise is still a day in Paradise.
Ssicarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 08:36 PM   #55
doober
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ssicarman View Post
You should be able to bolt the 97 components to the 94. You will have an extra hole in the head for the temp gauge sensor but you can just put a sensor in it to plug it. Also you will need to find an EGR adaptor plate to convert the vacuum EGR to the 97 electronic one.
were can I get that adapter for the EGR ? And can it really be that straight forward for the swap? Just those 2 issues ?

Thank you for the reply
doober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 10:13 PM   #56
Ssicarman
Senior Member
 
Ssicarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,706
Default

If the engine was a California emission spec car then it may have it on it. If not then you could have a search on your hands. eBay may be your best bet.
__________________
A lousy day in Paradise is still a day in Paradise.
Ssicarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:02 PM   #57
doober
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ssicarman View Post
If the engine was a California emission spec car then it may have it on it. If not then you could have a search on your hands. eBay may be your best bet.

well I don't know if it has on or not. although I do reside on Cali and the car is from San Diego hope fully it does..

thanks
doober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 12:42 AM   #58
Ssicarman
Senior Member
 
Ssicarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,706
Default

If the 94 engine is from CA then it would have come with the adaptor plate. If the engine has the electronic EGR on then engine then the engine should have the adaptor.

Link to pictures

http://www.saturnfans.com/classified...uct/3791/cat/6
__________________
A lousy day in Paradise is still a day in Paradise.
Ssicarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 01:17 AM   #59
doober
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Default

What about the whole obd1and obd2 thing? My cars a 97 and has an obd2
The engine is a 94 and has an obd1.......how would i go about that?

Thanks
doober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 04:38 AM   #60
Ssicarman
Senior Member
 
Ssicarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doober View Post
What about the whole obd1and obd2 thing? My cars a 97 and has an obd2
The engine is a 94 and has an obd1.......how would i go about that?

Thanks
OBD 1 and 2 are basically the operating systems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ssicarman View Post
You should be able to bolt the 97 components to the 94.
__________________
A lousy day in Paradise is still a day in Paradise.
Ssicarman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:37 AM.

© 2006 - 2016 CrowdGather | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community

 

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.