Saturn Spot

Go Back   Saturn Spot > Saturn Model & Technical Discussion > Saturn L-Series

Old 05-31-2016, 11:12 PM   #1
Vancouverisland93

Default Saturn Ls1/Ls2 head swap?

Hello, I recently picked up a 2001 ls1 with 90,000 miles on it, it's a manual.
I happen to have an 97 ls2 parts car with 160,000 miles on it sitting in my back yard.
They are both manuals and I'm wondering if it's an easy job to do a head swap? I don't want to pull either motors out completely but I can pull the parts car motor if need be, just wondering if I'd have to do much wiring or not? I don't want a difficult job as I'm just a backyard mechanic haha.

Essentially I want to throw that dohc into a sohc but I won't want to wreck it haha.

Vancouverisland93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 03:57 PM   #2
derfderf

There is no such thing as a 97ls2.

Do you mean 97 SL2 and 2001 SL1 -- S cars, not L cars?

97 DOHC into a 2001 SL1???

Hmmm...

Considerations:
1)Will it bolt in? yes
2)What about PCM/BCM/wiring, etc?

a)Well the 2001 has a BCM in it; 97 doesn't.
So can't use the 97 PCM because it want's to control everything in the car whereas in 2001, the BCM was responsible for everything except engine and tranny control. Even if you used the 97 SL2 wiring harness and PCM, I would expect things not to work if simply for the fact that there are things like the mechanical odometer in 97 that would sync up with the electronic circuit in place to drive the digital odometer -- whose mileage is stored in the BCM --which wouldn't exist.....

Conclusion: No 97 SL2 PCM

b) So can this work with a 2001 SL1 PCM, BCM, and wiring harness?

1)2001 SL1 BCM
Not sure if there is a difference betw SL1 and SL2 BCMs. In programming, I would assume so due to different features on the cars.

2)2001 SL1 PCM