Saturn Spot
 

 


Go Back   Saturn Spot > Saturn Modifications > Styling Modifications


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2003, 03:52 AM   #1
sehnsuchtkuss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Gorham, ME
Posts: 203
Default high/low beam mod?


On a lot of cars, I've seen a styling modification where you can splice 2 wires together, which makes the low beam stay lit when the high beam is activated. Is that possible with saturns (93 sl1), and does anybody know how it's done?

~Sehnsuchtkuss

sehnsuchtkuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2003, 04:35 AM   #2
picksl1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 7,286
Default

yes it is possible...someone here tried it a while back and they kept blowin out the relay. if you check out http://www.jcwhitney.com/SearchCatCo...equestid=57047
__________________
Patrick "the irish leprechaun"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
picksl1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2003, 04:39 AM   #3
Robert-sl2
Senior Member
 
Robert-sl2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,440
Default

I have a diagram I made up a while back to do this mod. it works on paper, but I have not tried my 'revised' method yet. The first time I tried it, I didnt realize that the headlights had a negative switch, so I kept blowing fuses! If I can fing the new diagram I will post it.

Robert
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(no longer mine)
Proud Owner of a 2005 Storm Grey Saturn Vue
Robert-sl2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2003, 06:21 AM   #4
sehnsuchtkuss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Gorham, ME
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert-sl2
I have a diagram I made up a while back to do this mod. it works on paper, but I have not tried my 'revised' method yet. The first time I tried it, I didnt realize that the headlights had a negative switch, so I kept blowing fuses! If I can fing the new diagram I will post it.

Robert

Thanks, I would definitely appreciate that! Any help on this mod qould be helpful!

~Sehnsucht
sehnsuchtkuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 12:55 AM   #5
4azdmunky
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 59
Default

I have been pondering this mod for a while, however is it street legal? I thought I read somewhere that only two headlights can be on at a time.

Can anyone shed some light on this?
__________________
Jon

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


'97 SC2 DOHC
Fader Tint
Injen Intake
Custom cold box
1 Child Seat ;}

** I have created something more powerful than mankind, its a monkey with four asses.
4azdmunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 01:35 AM   #6
sehnsuchtkuss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Gorham, ME
Posts: 203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4azdmunky
I have been pondering this mod for a while, however is it street legal? I thought I read somewhere that only two headlights can be on at a time.

Can anyone shed some light on this?
As far as I can tell, it is perfectly street legal. If you look at a lot of cars running HID lights, they never go off, and their high beams just kick in. My problem is actually performing the mod...can it be done?

~Sehnsucht
sehnsuchtkuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 02:23 AM   #7
picksl1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 7,286
Default

try clickin the link above....for some reason i geuss i accidently copied the wrong link....now it should be good tho
__________________
Patrick "the irish leprechaun"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
picksl1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 03:04 AM   #8
sehnsuchtkuss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Gorham, ME
Posts: 203
Default

I seem to be having trouble opening the link, if you are referring to the JC whitney site. Have you done the mod yourself? Can you give me some help on that? Any directions or anything?

~Sehnsucht
sehnsuchtkuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 04:00 AM   #9
picksl1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 7,286
Default

damnit JC whitnet isnt working right for some reason. if you go to jcwhitney.com and type in the part number 81UD1821P that will give you a direct link to the product. i have never done this to my car, but i dont think it will be too hard. i think that it is just a one or 2 wire hookup. BTW the product is only like $20 so its not a huge waste of money
__________________
Patrick "the irish leprechaun"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
picksl1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2003, 04:21 AM   #10
sehnsuchtkuss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Gorham, ME
Posts: 203
Default

What does that part do? There must be a way to do the mod without that part, several of my friends have done the mod just by bridging 2 wires.
sehnsuchtkuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:24 PM.

© 2006 - 2016 CrowdGather | Advertisers | Investors | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community

 

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.